Wave Graphic

What are the seven seas?

To the ancients, "seven" often meant "many," and before the fifteenth century, the many seas of the world were:

  • the Red Sea
  • the Mediterranean Sea
  • the Persian Gulf
  • the Black Sea
  • the Adriatic Sea
  • the Caspian Sea
  • the Indian Ocean
Today, the world ocean is generally divided into four main oceans:

  • the Arctic Ocean
  • the Atlantic Ocean
  • the Indian Ocean
  • the Pacific Ocean
In addition, there are numerous smaller seas and gulfs.

Info Office Logo
Last updated 31 December 1997

Return to oceanography questions

Return to the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI) Information Office